It’s A Wrap! – My Online Journey

new-piktochart_816_8f530634d7b4917b5dd57d111a0429cb4e4e2568

(Source: Picture created by myself)

It’s the end of this module that we have worked on for 2 and a half weeks. It has been a fulfilling and insightful journey on how we live and work on the internet.

Self-Test

self-test

At the start of this module, many components as reflected in the self-test above were foreign or useless to me in my opinion as I did not feel the necessity to draw the boundaries in my personal life.

However, after this module, I realized the importance of all these factors will affect my professional digital image and future career. Digital footprints will be left behind and as the saying goes, “The internet records everything and forgets nothing”. In order for future employers to be attracted, it is crucial to control what is posted online for reputation and identity reasons.

Social Media Platforms

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Source: Personal Twitter, Professional Twitter, LinkedIn Account, WordPress)

  • Twitter: I currently own one private account which is for my personal use. However, I have since created another for professional purposes. I followed accounts such as CNN to help me to stay relevant and look out for job opportunities in my area of interest. It will also be used for personal branding, discussions and networking. In relation to Topic 2, I have multiple online identities (personal and professional) to draw the boundaries in my life.
  • LinkedIn: I have never used LinkedIn before as there were other job portals that attracted me more. However, after understanding the benefits of LinkedIn, I have created a LinkedIn account that helps build my connections and add value to myself through my experiences and profile description. Topic 3 of building a professional digital profile has greatly aid me in the different ways I can sell myself.
  • Email: To email potential employers, a proper professional email is needed. Hence, I have since own separate email accounts – One for business purposes and other for my personal use. The professional email will be used to email my resume and send enquiries to potential employers about job opportunities I found online.
  • WordPress: In the past, I have used blogger for my own leisure and as my online diary to record my daily activities and vent my personal problems. However, wordpress has given me a new insight on how I am able to leverage it through creative writing on current affairs and issues of my interest that attract potential employers.

Future Plans

(Source: My own video on Youtube)

Above is a short summary video of what I have learned throughout this module. This module has taught me to better manage my social media accounts and gear it to my advantage professionally. It has also enlightened me on ethical issues that is constantly overlooked in the internet sphere.

As my area of interest is in Marketing, marketing requires creativity and keeping up with the ever-changing trends. Therefore, through my new social medias, I am able to keep up with the trends while expressing and displaying my capabilities through creative writing. Even after I have landed a job, I will still use the platforms to source for better job opportunities and continually enriching myself.

(Word Count: 499)

Leave a Reply

